Peace from Pierce the Veil

Pierce the Veil. A punk band that pumps energy as well as peace into the hearts of their listeners.

Now I do not mean to be offensive to anyone especially them. But I call this special Mexican punk band my sexicans. Victor Fuentes the lead singer and a guitarist for the band, Mike Fuentes brother of Vic and the drummer, Tony Perry the lead guitarist of this fabulous band, and last but most certainly not least the one and only Jaime (Hi-meh) Preciado on bass guitar. Now this band is no ordinary punk band for me. This band gave me the energy to be able to wake up everyday and smile. 

I have my favorite songs from them but these songs aren’t just favorites. They are lifesavers. When I thought it was all over and that I had given up this band comforted me and helped me live again. Songs such as a Match into Water, King for a Day, Divine Zero, Bulls in the Bronx, One Hundred Sleepless Nights, Stained Glass Eyes and Colorful Tears, Bulletproof Love, Kissing in Cars, Hold on Till May, Hell Above, and Floral and Fading. I know those were quite a few songs to list, but they really are the songs that have kept me living. PTV really is my favorite band and although there are plants of other artists and bands out there I do believe that this particular band has helped me the most. 

It sometimes felt as if they could read my mind and what I felt because as soon as I clicked their playlist on shuffle the song I needed to hear the most immediately began to play. The drum beat of their songs usually kept me tapping my foot along with sincerely helped with my anxiety. Having to really pay attention to the words especially when the screaming began made me forget about the rest of the world. 

I not only listened to their songs but also to the interviews they were in. In a way it made me feel more connected to them and like I wasn’t alone. 

Being able to wear a band t-shirt from them felt as if I had a shield against the cruelty the world presented me with. Even in my happiest moments they were there to celebrate with me. And those days when I hit rock bottom they seemed to pick me up and lift me once again.

I remember vividly when I first told my best friend that I self harmed. We were sitting together at lunch and both of us were listening to PTV. When I told and showed him my arms he burst into tears. And at that moment A Match into Water began to play. The words ” I kissed the scars on her skin. I still think you’re beautiful and I don’t ever wanna lose my best friend” blasted through the speakers of my phone and he looked up at me, right into my eyes, and said to me “I promise you I will try and be better. I am not going to lose you”.

Their songs have saved me from death. Literally. There were times when I thought that maybe I would be “better of dead”-SWS and then I would take my blade ready to slice my skin, ready to make the final cut. When the saving words blasted through my phone. I dropped the blade. Not even making a single cut. All I did was cry. 

Even when I went to the mental hospital they were there. We had music therapy one a day and I would always chose them. They kept me sane. Without them I do not believe that I would have turned into the person I am today. On the contrary I would be a very different, very troubled child. 

Even now that I am much better and I have improved on my mental health I still wildly depend on this band to show me the way and guide me. I thank PTV for everything they have done for me and for so many others. 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

